DipTrace 3.3 Release

News from developer. Also post info about new articles, tutorials, conferences, etc.
Message
Author
novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 388
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#31 Post by novarm44 » 29 Nov 2018, 06:27

Hi All,

We have updated DipTrace to 3.3.1 today. You can download it from https://diptrace.com/download/download-diptrace/

The list of new features and bug fixes:

Zoom on Undo/Redo - options added, main zoom mode has been corrected.
Routing by NumLock keyboard option (NumLock should be ON).
Grid Snap option - allows to turn off snap, but keep grid visible.
Status Bar now displays current mode, current view (normal/mirrored) and grid snap.

Fixed - Saving/Opening files with extra large and extra small grid size may cause program crash.
Fixed - Possible reducing gap between diffpair fanout vias (to diffpair primary gap).
Fixed - Calling of Table/Title Block Cell dialog window if cell was highlighted at design area border, then no mouse move event, and the next event mouse click outside the cell (to close menu or dialog).
Fixed - Change board side worked incorrectly for independent text objects within groups.
Fixed - Placement by list do not move groups properly.
Fixed - Slow trace optimizations on placement algorithms.
Fixed - Title block fields do not show current item properly in PCB Layout/Title and Sheet Setup/Title Blocks.
Fixed - Empty dropdown in Schematic/Connection Manager when you delete the last net.
Fixed - Incorrect rotating of irregular polygonal pad in Pattern Editor rotate group feature.
Fixed - Changing component position via Properties panel do not change dimensions, connected to the component.
Fixed - Eagle Import: net-class table is not imported correctly if it includes netclass with empty name.

dmaxben
Posts: 9
Joined: 01 Sep 2016, 12:01

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#32 Post by dmaxben » 29 Nov 2018, 09:29

Excellent! Thank you very much for all of those fixes.

Im not sure I understand what the "routing by NumLock" option is? Is there any further documentation on what that does?

Thanks
Ben

User avatar
Ford Prefect
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 Mar 2017, 15:32

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#33 Post by Ford Prefect » 30 Nov 2018, 04:09

Nice work novarm44 (Stanislav)

Well done :)

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 388
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#34 Post by novarm44 » 30 Nov 2018, 06:06

Im not sure I understand what the "routing by NumLock" option is? Is there any further documentation on what that does?
Start to route trace, then if you turn on numlock (numlk) key in the right side of keyboard, the keys 7,8,9,4,6,1,2,3 on the right side of keyboard can be used for routing. This option was also requested by users.

User avatar
Ford Prefect
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 Mar 2017, 15:32

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#35 Post by Ford Prefect » 30 Nov 2018, 09:51

novarm44 wrote:
29 Nov 2018, 06:27
Hi All,

We have updated DipTrace to 3.3.1 today. You can download it from https://diptrace.com/download/download-diptrace/

The list of new features and bug fixes:

Grid Snap option - allows to turn off snap, but keep grid visible.
novarm44 - Snap to Grid command is NOT working in the Pattern Editor application

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 388
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#36 Post by novarm44 » 30 Nov 2018, 10:50

Ford Prefect wrote:
30 Nov 2018, 09:51
novarm44 - Snap to Grid command is NOT working in the Pattern Editor application
What operation? Please provide more details. I have tried placing, editing and moving shapes and pads - it works properly in both cases (if snap is on or off). This feature required small tweaks to each grid-associated feature, our testers tried to test all things, but some operations may be missed.

User avatar
Ford Prefect
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 Mar 2017, 15:32

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#37 Post by Ford Prefect » 30 Nov 2018, 11:20

novarm44 wrote:
30 Nov 2018, 10:50
Ford Prefect wrote:
30 Nov 2018, 09:51
novarm44 - Snap to Grid command is NOT working in the Pattern Editor application
What operation? Please provide more details. I have tried placing, editing and moving shapes and pads - it works properly in both cases (if snap is on or off). This feature required small tweaks to each grid-associated feature, our testers tried to test all things, but some operations may be missed.
Open the Pattern Editor application and select 'New' (Ctrl+N) from the Library pull down menu option.
Then select 'Line' to create a line and draw a line. Then with the Grid Snap set to ON move the line left and right.
The line does not snap to the grid and the line can be placed anywhere and does not snap.
Snap.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 388
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#38 Post by novarm44 » 30 Nov 2018, 12:35

Ford Prefect wrote:
30 Nov 2018, 11:20
Open the Pattern Editor application and select 'New' (Ctrl+N) from the Library pull down menu option.
Then select 'Line' to create a line and draw a line. Then with the Grid Snap set to ON move the line left and right.
The line does not snap to the grid and the line can be placed anywhere and does not snap.
Snap.JPG
When grid snap option is on and you move line which is off the grid (placed with snap off or without grid), it is moved with the grid step, but points are not snapped. To snap it, try to move its points. If we snap off-grid objects to the grid when you move them, we may change those objects, so it doesn't work in such way.

User avatar
Ford Prefect
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 Mar 2017, 15:32

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#39 Post by Ford Prefect » 30 Nov 2018, 13:59

novarm44 wrote:
30 Nov 2018, 12:35

When grid snap option is on and you move line which is off the grid (placed with snap off or without grid), it is moved with the grid step, but points are not snapped. To snap it, try to move its points. If we snap off-grid objects to the grid when you move them, we may change those objects, so it doesn't work in such way.
Ah OK, I see what you mean. :)
I think I must've had the grid size set so low that it appeared that the line was floating and not snapping. :D
Also, It is quite difficult to see the grid in 'Component Editor' is there any way of changing the grid colour and/or background?
Last edited by Ford Prefect on 01 Dec 2018, 10:09, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
KevinA
Posts: 478
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35

Re: DipTrace 3.3 Release

#40 Post by KevinA » 30 Nov 2018, 21:57

Installed and tested, looking good but:
Help has not been updated with Alt+F11 related information.

Post Reply