Page 8 of 11

Re: DipTrace 4.0 Release

Posted: 19 Jun 2020, 23:59
by Dave8266
DipTrace Menu Layer Bug.png
One more I encountered today. If you select the "Place Shape" button on the toolbar, the menu which pops out from it appears to be either drawn underneath the editing space, or is clipped by the editing space.
The buttons are still there, and you can actually click on them if you move the mouse across the area where they would have been (the area I outlined in red). You just can't see them.

(This is on the Mac build of 4.0.0.2)

Re: DipTrace 4.0 Release

Posted: 20 Jun 2020, 05:11
by Martin Johnson
In component editor the "Select Component" sidebar on the left is horizontally re-sizable. That is useful since it is possible to view the full name of the component and library.
In PCB and schematic editors it is set to a fixed horizontal size which at least on my Windows system is too narrow to fit the full part name, that even holds true for the refactored in-built libraries.

This makes it awkward to quickly select parts in PCB and Schematic editors, because of this issue the side bar is not very usable / practical; please could you ensure that both the side bars in schematic and PCB (properties and components) are horizontally re-sizable?

Also regarding the properties, its also not possible to view the full text of parameters, this is also due to the horizontal being non-adjustable.

Maybe the situation is worse on a UHD display due to the windows in-built text scaling, perhaps the text is smaller and fits better on a lower res display?

Having a pre-set width that cannot be adjusted just doesn't work well at all.

Re: DipTrace 4.0 Release

Posted: 20 Jun 2020, 06:24
by Martin Johnson
Found out that you can right click on a list item in schematic and PCB and choose list width to adjust the width of the Place Component side bar.

Not a very obvious solution given the usually expected method to drag it; but it has made library names readable again; cant seem to find a solution for the properties bar on the right hand side though!

Re: DipTrace 4.0 Release

Posted: 23 Jun 2020, 15:09
by novarm44
Dave8266 wrote:
19 Jun 2020, 23:59
One more I encountered today. If you select the "Place Shape" button on the toolbar, the menu which pops out from it appears to be either drawn underneath the editing space, or is clipped by the editing space.
The buttons are still there, and you can actually click on them if you move the mouse across the area where they would have been (the area I outlined in red). You just can't see them.
(This is on the Mac build of 4.0.0.2)
This is specifics of Wine on Mac and D3D/OpenGL. We have changed this for the upcoming upgrade (pop-up toolbar appears not over the design area).
Martin Johnson wrote:
20 Jun 2020, 06:24
Found out that you can right click on a list item in schematic and PCB and choose list width to adjust the width of the Place Component side bar.
Not a very obvious solution given the usually expected method to drag it; but it has made library names readable again; cant seem to find a solution for the properties bar on the right hand side though!
Such method was made to avoid accidental resize,selecting component/library,changing property while you work and to keep more place on panel/design. However we can try to add such option with possibility to turn it off and see how it works. Resize of the right hand panel is not possible yet, however it is in the list for polishing of 4.0 (will appear soon).

DipTrace 4.0.0.2 on Mac OS Catalina 10.15.5

Posted: 24 Jun 2020, 00:44
by frankcellini
I am running DipTrace 4.0.0.2 on Mac OS Catalina 10.15.5 and every time I launch DipTrace I get "Keystroke Receiving" warning, which invites me to grant access to application to receive keystrokes and then the Security and Privacy window opens. Then I can continue to start using DipTrace. This happens every launch of DipTrace. I suspect the setting in Security and Privacy preferences does not "stick". Is there a fix coming for this? See screen shots in bug reports area.

Re: DipTrace 4.0 Release

Posted: 24 Jun 2020, 01:52
by leslie2019
Hi I use Diptrace 4.0.0.2 export dxf files.
Export Top paste layers.But have Bottom paste wire on Dxf file.
see attached files.
thanks.

Re: DipTrace 4.0 Release

Posted: 25 Jun 2020, 20:16
by Dave8266
novarm44 wrote:
23 Jun 2020, 15:09
This is specifics of Wine on Mac and D3D/OpenGL. We have changed this for the upcoming upgrade (pop-up toolbar appears not over the design area).
Sounds good, thanks!

Re: DipTrace 4.0 Release

Posted: 26 Jun 2020, 03:28
by Alex
leslie2019 wrote:
24 Jun 2020, 01:52
Hi I use Diptrace 4.0.0.2 export dxf files.
Export Top paste layers.But have Bottom paste wire on Dxf file.
see attached files.
thanks.
We can't reproduce the issue. Could you please send DipTrace board file and exported DXF file for verification (either upload on the forum on send to DipTrace support).

Re: DipTrace 4.0.0.2 on Mac OS Catalina 10.15.5

Posted: 26 Jun 2020, 03:45
by Alex
frankcellini wrote:
24 Jun 2020, 00:44
I am running DipTrace 4.0.0.2 on Mac OS Catalina 10.15.5 and every time I launch DipTrace I get "Keystroke Receiving" warning, which invites me to grant access to application to receive keystrokes and then the Security and Privacy window opens. Then I can continue to start using DipTrace. This happens every launch of DipTrace. I suspect the setting in Security and Privacy preferences does not "stick". Is there a fix coming for this? See screen shots in bug reports area.
Thank you for the report. Unfortunately we can't reproduce the issue. There is an algorithm of resolving such problems, for example this one https://support.logi.com/hc/en-au/articles/360023203954 but it seems it doesn't work for unknown reason.
The same question is discussed in this topic: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13468&p=28696#p28696

Re: DipTrace 4.0 Release

Posted: 02 Jul 2020, 23:14
by frankcellini
News from Apple recently revealed a move away from Intel processors to Apple Silicon which is based on ARM architecture, same processors that power iPhones and iPads. First machine with Apple Silicon comes before end of year ad developers can get MacMini prototype for testing apps already. I wonder what will happen to Diptrace when all Apple machines run on ARM based Apple Silicon, roughly in 2 years. I see that DipTrace on Mac runs using Wine, but does Wine need Intel processor? Apple has promised Virtualisation technology built into Silicon but did not say that Windows could run using virtualising technology.