Buses and hierarchical sheets

Drawing Schematics, Hierarchical Design, BOM, Exporting net-lists, etc.
biziosan

Buses and hierarchical sheets

#1 Post by biziosan » 07 Nov 2015, 17:35

I am pretty new to DipTrace. Is there a way to use buses in hierarchical sheets? The last reference to buses in multiple sheets in this forum is from 2012. Hierarchy connectors don't seem to accept a bus connection.

A workaround I found is to use bus connectors. However, they do not show up in the hierarchical block. The alternative would be to use multi-sheets designs without the hierarchy.

Thank you for your help!

Techno Tronix

Re: Buses and hierarchical sheets

#2 Post by Techno Tronix » 09 Nov 2015, 23:38

On the lower-level schematic: create a bus with the relevant signals. Connect it to a hierarchical label (on the right-hand toolbar, the letter "A" with a yellow port symbol), which gives it a label which can be seen on the instantiating sheet.

biziosan

#3 Post by biziosan » 10 Nov 2015, 01:08

Hi,

thanks for the reply. The "hierarchical label" part is what I am probably missing. I don't see any right-hand toolbar. I believe I have all the toolbars enabled. Are your talking about a "Place Hierarchy Connector" button?

If I add a hierarchy connector, I cannot connect it to a bus.

Tomg
Expert

#4 Post by Tomg » 10 Nov 2015, 10:33

I think "Techno Tronix" was talking about the Bus connector illustrated below.

Experiment-I
1) On the hierarchical sheet I created a bus containing many Nets and named it BUS_NET.
2) Then I attached a bus connector to it and gave it the same name.
3) Dropped another bus connector on the hierarchical sheet and gave it the same name, also.
4) Attached another bus line to the second bus connector and gave it the same name.
Observations-I
* Both bus connectors formed rectangles around their labels and displayed green dots as expected.
* Both buses contained identical Nets as expected.

Experiment-II