Page 1 of 1

Align Component to Grid

Posted: 14 Jun 2017, 09:38
by mcrabill
Does DipTrace 2.4.0.2 Full Version have the ability to align a component with the grid similar to "snap to grid" feature found in other schematic capture programs? I have the grid displayed, but not able to align.

Re: Align Component to Grid

Posted: 15 Jun 2017, 05:39
by Tomg
The "Snap to Grid" function is not available in the Schematic Editor. When you create a component in the Component Editor it should have a pin pitch of 0.100" and all pins should be snapped to a 0.100" grid. Any component created in this manner will conveniently snap into position in the Schematic Editor during the placement process (or a "grab-and-move") when the grid is active and set to 0.100".

Re: Align Component to Grid

Posted: 16 Jun 2017, 03:43
by Alex
Snap to grid is not available in Schematic because all components always snap to the grid by the first pin.

Re: Align Component to Grid

Posted: 12 Feb 2019, 11:06
by ReverseEMF
Yet, text objects DON'T automagically snap to the grid when moved. So, if you want to, for instance, align a label to a pin, on a generic terminal block, you have to do something like, set the Grid Size to a small value, then futts with the thing until it looks aligned. Nice would be if the center [or left most base line, etc.] of text were to snap to the grid. Then, I could at least get the alignment I want, with ease, in one dimension, then use Align Objects to align them in the other dimension.