check for unconnected vias

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
Post Reply
Message
Author
fi2eewill
Posts: 12
Joined: 09 Sep 2016, 14:10

check for unconnected vias

#1 Post by fi2eewill » 09 Feb 2019, 04:28

Hello folks,
is there a way to check for non-connected vias and remove them automatically?
or at least the ability to select non-connected vias and delete them manually

thanks in advance!

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1310
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: check for unconnected vias

#2 Post by Tomg » 10 Feb 2019, 13:36

I'm not aware of any automatic method for doing what you want, so you'll have to do it manually. Here's a procedure that may help, but please back up your PCB file beforehand just in case it ruins your design. Following these instructions should help eliminate some of the tedium, especially on larger designs, but there will still be some work to do...

1) Right-click on a Static Via that has connecting traces, choose "Convert to Trace Via" in the pop-up menu and select "All Vias" in the fly-out menu. If a Warning window appears due to the presence of unconnected Static Vias, click on the [OK] button.
2) Select the [Objects] tab in the Layers/Objects/Properties panel located above the Design Manager (upper right side of screen), choose "Selection Only" in the drop-down list and make sure that only [x]Vias is enabled (check mark is present). All other objects must be disabled (no check mark).
3) In the Design Area select/highlight everything by dragging a selection box around the entire project. (Do not use the hotkey combination Ctrl + A). This should result in the selection/highlighting of all remaining Static Vias and nothing else.
4) While holding down the [Ctrl] key, deselect any Static Via (click once on it) that is connected to a copper fill/plane.
5) Press the [Delete] key once to delete all remaining/disconnected Static Vias.
6) In the Layers/Objects/Properties panel, choose "Selection Only" in the drop-down list and make sure that all objects are enabled again (check marks are present).
7) Right-click on one of the Trace Vias, choose "Convert Via to Static" in the pop-up menu and select "All Vias" in the fly-out menu.
8) Update all copper pours and run all verification checks.
9) If everything looks okay, resave your PCB (Ctrl + S).
Tom

fi2eewill
Posts: 12
Joined: 09 Sep 2016, 14:10

Re: check for unconnected vias

#3 Post by fi2eewill » 12 Feb 2019, 22:51

Hi Tomg,
thanks for the steps, too much work / risk involved.
I actually found a hidden way in dipTrace and it works like a charm :). Hopefully others find it useful as well

I have latest v3.3.1.0 installed so can't speak for other versions.

steps
1) click Edit > Edit Selection
2)in the pop-up window, you can select one of the following Actions
New selection, Add to selection, Remove from selection, Keep selected.

I chose New Selection

3) check the Vias box and select "Not Connected"

4) Hit Delete button and Viola! :D

edit_selection.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1310
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: check for unconnected vias

#4 Post by Tomg » 13 Feb 2019, 09:36

Excellent. Thanks for the tip!
Tom

Post Reply