Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
Post Reply
Message
Author
friesen
Posts: 70
Joined: 08 Nov 2010, 16:48

Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

#1 Post by friesen » 07 Jun 2017, 11:47

Is there no way to hide all non net connected vias in a copper poured layer?

I have a 6 layer board with a lot of vias, the way it looks to me its via*N right clicks, hide pad in layer, or worse, change to static, then hide pad in layer.

Not very efficient.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1404
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

#2 Post by Tomg » 07 Jun 2017, 12:20

Right-click on one of the Vias, choose Convert Via to Static in the pop-up menu and select All Vias in the fly-out menu. Then group-select most or all of the desired Vias first (Ctrl + left-click and/or drag select), right-click on one of the selected Vias and choose Hide Via Ring in Layer in the pop-up menu. That should perform the operation on all selected Static Vias. Maybe it will help a little.
Tom

friesen
Posts: 70
Joined: 08 Nov 2010, 16:48

Re: Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

#3 Post by friesen » 07 Jun 2017, 12:54

I did that. It really is a bit of work though, something that could be automated better.

dominicc
Posts: 6
Joined: 08 Jan 2019, 04:50

Re: Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

#4 Post by dominicc » 10 Jan 2019, 05:52

yes, fully agree, it's really painful to have to do it.

fi2eewill
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Sep 2016, 14:10

Re: Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

#5 Post by fi2eewill » 12 Feb 2019, 23:19

Just curious what does "hide Via Ring in Layer" achieve?

does it actually remove the ring or this is only for visual purpose?

Btw, i found a simple way to select all non-connected vias, I posted the steps here viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12745

d1wang
Posts: 46
Joined: 13 Nov 2018, 02:19

Re: Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

#6 Post by d1wang » 13 Feb 2019, 02:04

If you have a 4-layer board, you can remove the annular rings of signal vias in the inner layers. That way, you can have a large ground/power plane that is not broken up by signal vias.

fi2eewill
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Sep 2016, 14:10

Re: Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

#7 Post by fi2eewill » 14 Feb 2019, 15:38

Thanks d1wang, I presume this would only work for stitching vias, i.e. via without net connected

hakomoe
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Jun 2019, 05:05

Re: Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

#8 Post by hakomoe » 23 Aug 2019, 07:55

So I'm working on a HF PCB and this came up. For diff.pairs you can't do anything to remove the inner rings. That just sucks!
Diptrace(?) you have to fix this! Let me create custom via styles where this stuff is taken care of. And let me edit all vias regardless of them being static, single or in diff.pairs!

In the meanwhile, do anyone have useful hacks to fix this?

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1404
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Hide all unconnected via rings in layers

#9 Post by Tomg » 23 Aug 2019, 08:15

If you have finished routing the differential pair then, as a workaround, I suppose you could convert its vias to "Static" in order to give you the ability to hide the rings.
Tom

Post Reply