Schematic from PCB Layout file?

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
spelectron

Schematic from PCB Layout file?

#1 Post by spelectron » 08 May 2011, 22:50

Hello
I am new to Diptrace and being able to use it easily on the Mac is great! :D

A question... I have created a schematic and transferred it to PCB layout. I then realised that there were some mistakes and also that I had room on the board to add another chip. As I had placed all of the components and routed the tracks, I did all of these changes in PCB Layout, easily I might add! :D .

Is there a way that I can now create a new schematic from a PCB Layout file?

Apologies if I have missed something obvious

Best Regards
Scott

Alex
Technical Support

Re: Schematic from PCB Layout file?

#2 Post by Alex » 10 May 2011, 07:05

Hi Scott,

No, you can't create/update schematic from a PCB file. You should add components and nets in Schematic and keep RefDes in both programs the same, then renew layout from schematic to synchronize both files.

spelectron

#3 Post by spelectron » 10 May 2011, 19:48

Thanks for the reply, I will remember that next time.

If I do update the schematic and then refresh the layout, will it move the components I have already placed and routed?

Thanks again
Scott

Alex
Technical Support

#4 Post by Alex » 13 May 2011, 08:48

If RefDes on Schematic and PCB are the same and net names are identical too, you won't lose routing.

BugVito

#5 Post by BugVito » 19 Jun 2012, 18:51