Fill in area of copper pour?

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
Post Reply
Message
Author
Werner
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jan 2012, 01:08

Fill in area of copper pour?

#1 Post by Werner » 30 Jan 2012, 23:40

Hi Guys, I have a copper pour that I would like to fill the area of a rectangular pad over the three via's all the way to the pour surrounding it? I am doing this to increase copper to a transistor for cooling. Anyone have any idea how I can achieve this?
Thanks for the help! :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3703
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Fill in area of copper pour?

#2 Post by Alex » 31 Jan 2012, 09:42

Add connections from the pad to vias. Assign the same net to the copper pour in copper pour properties. Then update the copper pour.

Werner
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jan 2012, 01:08

Re: Fill in area of copper pour?

#3 Post by Werner » 31 Jan 2012, 18:33

Thanks Alex, I tryed to do what you suggested and get this. Something very wrong?
Thnanks for the help Buddy!
Werner
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3703
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Fill in area of copper pour?

#4 Post by Alex » 01 Feb 2012, 09:56

Please connect small copper pour to the same net as the pad and three vias (right click on copper pour outline, select "properties", go to connectivity tab and select net name there.

I see also few DRC markers. If they remain after connecting the copper pour to correct net, please let me know.

Post Reply