Outline Fill (G36, G37)

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
mkwired

Outline Fill (G36, G37)

#1 Post by mkwired » 13 Jul 2012, 17:58

I'm new to DipTrace and PCB Layout. I have been doing a lot of research about how PCBs are manufactured mainly because I received some mild negative feedback from our photoplot vendor about how my Gerber files looked "ugly." I didn't speak to the vendor directly. I got this feedback from our PCB department which sent my Gerber files to the vendor. Because making PCB layouts is new to me, I decided to learn as much as I could about the topic. I still have more to learn, but I think I may know what the vendor was talking about. It doesn't appear DipTrace generates Outline Fill (G36, G37) commands in the Gerber files. It is "painting" the pads and copper pours. According to the quote below, PCB vendors don't like Gerber files created using this method. As a programmer myself, it seems like creating Gerber files using the Outline Fill method would be easier than using multiple passes of an auto generated aperture. Are there any plans to use the G36 and G37 commands in future versions of DipTrace?

Quoted from the linked document below:
Painted or stroked pads and areas. This is
especially troublesome. The CAM operator has
to replace all the painted pads by flashes and
the painted areas by outlines, a time-consuming,
tedious and error-prone process. Painting is a
hang-over from the vector plotters of the 1960's
and 1970's. There is no valid reason why it is
still used.
http://www.ucamco.com/Portals/0/Documen ... 201110.pdf

lindquist

Re: Outline Fill (G36, G37)

#2 Post by lindquist » 14 Jul 2012, 06:26