STEP export doesn't respect project units

Post your feature requests here. Please use search function to ensure it is not here yet.
Post Reply
Message
Author
xfer
Posts: 16
Joined: 20 Jun 2018, 12:34

STEP export doesn't respect project units

#1 Post by xfer » 26 Feb 2019, 14:05

I design boards in mils, not millimeters. When I export from the 3D viewer, it does not respect the project units--it always exports in millimeters. Unfortunately, that causes problems with my mechanical CAD program, because it is difficult to scale to mils without having problems with preserving the integrity of the model. I have tried some file converters, which can work, but create really huge files as a result.

Can you have the STEP export comport with the declared units of the project? Thanks.


Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3536
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: STEP export doesn't respect project units

#3 Post by Alex » 28 Feb 2019, 10:11

There is no way to change units in STEP export. It seems STEP format requires using metric units.

farley
Posts: 137
Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 16:28

Re: STEP export doesn't respect project units

#4 Post by farley » 28 Feb 2019, 10:17

When I export from the 3D viewer, it does not respect the project units--it always exports in millimeters. Unfortunately, that causes problems with my mechanical CAD program
The actual size of the imported model should be independent of the units used. Which mechanical CAD software are you using?

xfer
Posts: 16
Joined: 20 Jun 2018, 12:34

Re: STEP export doesn't respect project units

#5 Post by xfer » 28 Mar 2019, 12:17

Max_DT wrote:
28 Feb 2019, 05:06
Go international. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internati ... m_of_Units
I have been an MSEE for thirty years, and am well acquainted with International Units. Why do you think that response solves an problem with changing the units in STEP export? I'm dealing with a CAD issue.

Post Reply