Routing tool behaviour differ depending on "Highlight Net (H)" config + ignoring grid bug

Report bugs here
Post Reply
Message
Author
whim
Posts: 11
Joined: 05 Sep 2018, 11:12

Routing tool behaviour differ depending on "Highlight Net (H)" config + ignoring grid bug

#1 Post by whim » 09 Jan 2019, 02:14

If you try to route a trace between two nets, while "Highlight Net (H)" is set to "All Nets", then diptrace asks, if nets should be merged.
If you try to route a trace between two nets, while "Highlight Net (H)" is set to "Current Net", then diptrace doesn't ask.

It seems like a bug. Feature of merging two nets by the routing tool should be allowed to all users and not only to those, who like to have "all nets" highlighted instead of "current nets"

More details in this thread, where the issue was discovered viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12679

+ another bug is mentioned in that thread. bug of ignoring the grid when traces are being connected when merging to nets.
explained in this post viewtopic.php?p=26137#p26137

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Routing tool behaviour differ depending on "Highlight Net (H)" config + ignoring grid bug

#2 Post by Alex » 09 Jan 2019, 10:40

During manual routing if "Highlight Net" is set to "All Nets" then all crossing nets are highlighted and user can connect to any of these nets. If "Highlight Net (H)" is set to "Current Net" then objects of current net only will be highlighted and therefore user can't merge current net to different one. This is not bug, this is the feature. We did it as option to prevent short circuits between nets during manual routing by accident.
In regards to second problem about ignoring the grid, could you provide some more details.

dtu2
Expert
Posts: 187
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 10:50

Re: Routing tool behaviour differ depending on "Highlight Net (H)" config + ignoring grid bug

#3 Post by dtu2 » 12 Jan 2019, 13:49

Alex wrote:
09 Jan 2019, 10:40
In regards to second problem about ignoring the grid, could you provide some more details.
Alex, you can find an explanation and instruction as to how to recreate the issue here:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12679#p26137


I posted a simple test file earlier in that thread if you would like to download it and try this for yourself.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12679#p26125


Some more thoughts about this that might help make this option more intuitive and useful:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12679&start=10#p26150
Jeff

Post Reply