Electra integration -- undefined layers and padstacks...

Report bugs here
Post Reply
Message
Author
Rich T
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Nov 2022, 13:12

Electra integration -- undefined layers and padstacks...

#1 Post by Rich T » 23 Nov 2022, 12:49

I have a nearly empty board and I'm trying to get Electra integration working, which I had working many years ago.

I "Unroute All" and then "Export Autorouter DSN".

I open the DSN in Electra v8.68 and immediately get the following errors:
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 973
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 977
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 981
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 985
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 989
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 993
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 997
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 1001
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 1005
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 1009
ERR: Parsing error at line: 1013 Undefined padstack for Via
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 973
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 977
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 981
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 985
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 989
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 993
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 997
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 1001
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 1005
Undefined layer: DipLayTemp0 at line: 1009
The DSN file is attached.

Would anyone know what I can do to get past this?

Thanks!

-- Rich
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3734
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Electra integration -- undefined layers and padstacks...

#2 Post by Alex » 25 Nov 2022, 12:38

Hi Rich,
We confirm the problem with loading this DSN in Electra. It stops on line
(via DipViaStyleTemp0 1232.48031 53.14960
Other DSN files are loaded OK. For further investigation, we need your board file which you exported DSN file from. Please upload it on the forum or send to DipTrace support.

Rich T
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Nov 2022, 13:12

Re: Electra integration -- undefined layers and padstacks...

#3 Post by Rich T » Yesterday, 14:19

Hi Alex,

This is very strange -- the Electra support person pointed out there were undefined references for both the top board layer (called "DipLayTemp0" for some reason) as well as the via properties (called "DipViaStyleTemp0" for some reason) and suggested I just do a global find/replace in the file of those strings to "Top" and "DipViaStyle_0" respectively, and it actually worked!

Then I went and added and deleted a couple plane layers to the board, and that seemed to fix the first bug... And then I set and unset the via styles and that seemed to fix the second bug...

So now I am a "no repro" for the bug!

It looks like the issue was a fresh install of DipTrace and me never having set any via style or adding any board layers before the first export to Electra -- now that I have done that (even though I have undone everything to the best of my ability), now things work!

If the bug comes back I will definitely get you more info! Thanks for your help -- I was out of town the last 3 days, so sorry for the delayed response!

-- Rich

Rich T
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Nov 2022, 13:12

Re: Electra integration -- undefined layers and padstacks...

#4 Post by Rich T » Yesterday, 17:51

Actually, I got myself back into the broken state again (not sure how), and tried the via and layer trick, with no joy...

Then I just restarted diptrace pcb and everything started working again...

I'm still trying to isolate what I am doing to cause the problem.

Very strange still!

Post Reply