4k monitor display bug

Report bugs here
Message
Author
arbush
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Jan 2013, 11:04

4k monitor display bug

#1 Post by arbush » 30 Apr 2019, 15:52

I recently updated to a 4k monitor and I've found that the Pin Manager dialog doesn't display correctly (see attachment). Re-sizing the window doesn't resolve the issue and the buttons simply move like they're stuck in those positions. The 'OK' button is just barely visible behind the pin settings, otherwise I wouldn't be able to edit the pins at all.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

doug12745
Posts: 17
Joined: 10 Sep 2018, 17:24

Re: 4k monitor display bug

#2 Post by doug12745 » 01 May 2019, 01:03

If you are using Win10, there are two settings you can try. One under display settings lets you change the magnification and display resolution. This isn't ideal. Second, under fonts, you can change the sizes of various letterings. I played around with both and finally arrived at a reasonable setting for my use. You can try these and see if you can get the buttons back onto the screen.

When I got my 4k 27” display I expected more. In full resolution, the text is very clear, but also quite small and therefore useless for me with my middle age eyes. I suppose a 50” monitor would solve that :)

Another problem I discovered was that menu icons were very small, and I could not find a wat to enlarge them. Good luck with this.

arbush
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Jan 2013, 11:04

Re: 4k monitor display bug

#3 Post by arbush » 01 May 2019, 08:49

Thanks for the suggestions. It looks like the default setting for Win10 is 150% scaling, and as I reduce from there the image returns to proper alignment. Unfortunately it also becomes smaller, which is a problem for MY middle aged eyes as well. Very sad that I'm running into several technology related barriers recently with DipTrace. It seems they aren't developing fast enough to keep up with changes in both the computer/os space AND the electrical design space (tear-drop traces for flexes?)

JohnC
Posts: 21
Joined: 31 Aug 2010, 22:37

Re: 4k monitor display bug

#4 Post by JohnC » 20 Jun 2019, 18:38

I have run into this problem and the screen shots are similar to mine. I still can't get all the info on the screen as the lettering is disappearing (shrinking) at the same time. I also cannot get to the type in pin naming screen? Where is it hid ? Why put out the upgrade with such a mismatch to 4k machines? Should I move to another drawing program and/or wait for Rev. 3.3.1.4?

Serg
Technical Support
Posts: 311
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 08:12

Re: 4k monitor display bug

#5 Post by Serg » 21 Jun 2019, 08:42

JohnC wrote:
20 Jun 2019, 18:38
I have run into this problem and the screen shots are similar to mine. I still can't get all the info on the screen as the lettering is disappearing (shrinking) at the same time. I also cannot get to the type in pin naming screen? Where is it hid ? Why put out the upgrade with such a mismatch to 4k machines? Should I move to another drawing program and/or wait for Rev. 3.3.1.4?
Try to set 100% scaling for Windows.
We will try to fix this problem for the next version.

JohnC
Posts: 21
Joined: 31 Aug 2010, 22:37

Re: 4k monitor display bug

#6 Post by JohnC » 21 Jun 2019, 14:59

Resizing to 100% only brings in a little more than what is seen at 250%. Still cannot see the naming screen to type into. I am running a 4k touch screen laptop with a dedicated graphics card and this is the first run on it with the new 3.3.1.3 Trying the different graphics modes doesn't help. Since I have used the product for some time I am not looking for another learning curve to climb.
I am sure the Dip Trace crew will clean it up.

DerekG
Posts: 93
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 08:06
Location: Norfolk Island

Re: 4k monitor display bug

#7 Post by DerekG » 04 Jul 2019, 22:30

Yes, I have found this also running a 31.5" ViewSonic VA (Vertical Alignment) monitor at 4K (3840 x 2160).

The fastest fix is to reduce the screen driver resolution. In my case 1920 x 1200 does the trick. It saves having to sign out & then back in under Windows 10.

I must say running DipTrace on a 31.5" monitor at 4K is a fantastic experience.

Serg says DipTrace will fix this on the next release. Please do, as I'm continually changing resolutions when adding/updating new schematic parts & footprints.

Note that stretching out the pop up box does not help & reducing the magnification factor is only a 20% fix at best.

Attached shows the differences between 4K & HD resolutions in the dialog pop up boxes.

4K Monitor Scaling Issues.pdf
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I also sat between Elvis & Bigfoot on the UFO.

hakomoe
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Jun 2019, 05:05

Re: 4k monitor display bug

#8 Post by hakomoe » 23 Aug 2019, 08:08

Have anyone else had this problem running DipTrace on Windows in Parallels desktop(Mac user) ? I can't find any way of fixing this :cry:

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 312
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: 4k monitor display bug

#9 Post by novarm44 » 13 Oct 2019, 19:29

The issue has been fixed for the upcoming release.

DerekG
Posts: 93
Joined: 18 Mar 2014, 08:06
Location: Norfolk Island

Re: 4k monitor display bug

#10 Post by DerekG » 13 Oct 2019, 20:03

novarm44 wrote:
13 Oct 2019, 19:29
The issue has been fixed for the upcoming release.
Excellent work. DipTrace from version 2.9 onwards has really moved ahead. Your users really appreciate all your hard work.
I also sat between Elvis & Bigfoot on the UFO.

Post Reply