Push button pattern

"How-to" questions from new engineers and designers. Please ask and respond here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
2of1
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Aug 2010, 07:01
Contact:

Push button pattern

#1 Post by 2of1 » 30 Aug 2010, 12:28

I'm looking for a pattern for those popular mini push button switches found on many boards (standard size - like those at http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/25-x-PCB-Mount-Mi ... 500wt_1154 for e.g.).
Is there something suitable in the standard pattern libs?

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3247
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Push button pattern

#2 Post by Alex » 31 Aug 2010, 07:29

We will add a lot of push button switches in next version. We used Digikey catalog to create popular parts.

2of1
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Aug 2010, 07:01
Contact:

Re: Push button pattern

#3 Post by 2of1 » 31 Aug 2010, 07:54

That sounds great Alex - thanks! :)

I just made my own pattern in the end for this one.

Any idea when the new version is scheduled to be released?

Mrdeb
Posts: 10
Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 23:25

Re: Push button pattern

#4 Post by Mrdeb » 13 Mar 2011, 18:11

I am trying to create a pattern fore a pushbutton BUT I keep getting error that the pins are not connected to pads.
I have a PCB pattern, using the pushbuttonno component pattern but no connections when I convert from schematic to PCB ?
very basic nno pushbutton
.510 square with pins .215 ctr to ctr aprox.
I know the pattern is probably not correct but just can't get the pads connected to the pins. I just put a square for testing if I am making any progress
NOT
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3247
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Push button pattern

#5 Post by Alex » 14 Mar 2011, 07:15

As I see, these buttons have pins C1 and C2. Right click on the button in Schematic, select "Attached pattern" in submenu and check that attached pattern exists and pins are linked to correct pad numbers. You should see blue connection lines from pins to pads.

Mrdeb
Posts: 10
Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 23:25

Re: Push button pattern

#6 Post by Mrdeb » 14 Mar 2011, 09:08

Well I got the pads connected to pins--THANKS
NOW
is there a method to designing a component, pattern then printing just the pattern to confirm size etc.
I am trying to move my pads closer together with larger pads, getting little progress but think there must be an easier method.
My caps and resistors need to be spaced further apart. Using a perf board as sample but the grid doesn't seem to be the same unless I am using the wrong grid?. A perf board is .015 between holes?
am used to using EXPRESS PCB but this DIPTRACE is better. Now I can produce gerber files for board house use.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3247
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Push button pattern

#7 Post by Alex » 15 Mar 2011, 08:34

Printing from Pattern editor isn't supported, but you can use dimension tools for pattern verifications.
I didn't understand a problem with grid. You can select one from drop-down box, set custom grid size or disable grid at all.

wanek
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 07:40

Re: Push button pattern

#8 Post by wanek » 26 Dec 2017, 18:47

Alex wrote:
31 Aug 2010, 07:29
We will add a lot of push button switches in next version.
hello @Alex, what about those buttons? they were ever added? i can't find any footprints for buttons in the free version. is this available only in the paid version?

thanks!

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3247
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Push button pattern

#9 Post by Alex » 28 Dec 2017, 04:24

We have added many push buttons since 2011. They are in "Switches" library.
All versions including the free one have the same set of libraries.

wanek
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Jul 2017, 07:40

Re: Push button pattern

#10 Post by wanek » 28 Dec 2017, 15:49

yeah, i've found them now ;)

on the first try i've expected some "buttons" category, and this is why i not looked into switches...
also, the search filter for the "button" keyword only gave 4 results in the symbols category - all without footprint, and this is why i've thought there are no buttons added.

thanks for the hint!

Post Reply