Custom Footprint Covered Pads in Version 3.3.1.3

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
Post Reply
Message
Author
a18rhodes
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 May 2019, 00:34

Custom Footprint Covered Pads in Version 3.3.1.3

#1 Post by a18rhodes » 16 May 2019, 00:42

I am trying to make a custom footprint that has 2 custom-shape pads that need to be covered with the soldermask. I.e., these 2 pads will not have any exposed copper. After countless attempts and forum searching I can't seem to get it to work.

In the pattern editor, I have tried right clicking on the pad and clicking Mask/Paste settings, then changing top solder mask, bottom solder mask. In all of the other forum posts everybody is saying there is an option for none or something similar, but the only options I see are Common State, Open, and Tented. None of these 3 options create a covered pad. I have also tried adding filled shapes of top mask just to be sure that I am understanding the function properly, but the top-mask shape is more of an ant-mask (i.e., it creates an opening in the top mask).

The only option I can think of is to convert the pads to shapes, and place a tiny pad in the corner of the pseudo-pad shape. I have gotten this to work, but like I said, I would prefer to have no copper exposed.

Does anybody have any suggestions?

User avatar
KevinA
Posts: 361
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35

Re: Custom Footprint Covered Pads in Version 3.3.1.3

#2 Post by KevinA » 16 May 2019, 08:57

Select the pads you want the solder mask to cover and make them "tented", change the solder paste to none, save the part. Open PCB editor, place the part, export Gerber, top only, preview, you should not see the pads that were tented which means the pads are covered with the solder mask.

a18rhodes
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 May 2019, 00:34

Re: Custom Footprint Covered Pads in Version 3.3.1.3

#3 Post by a18rhodes » 16 May 2019, 19:48

Okay, so I guess the limitation I was missing was that this has to be done in the PCB Editor tool, not in the Footprint Editor tool. It seems that no matter what settings I choose in the Footprint Editor, there is no effect. But in the PCB editor, I can select each pad and use the settings you describe and it works like a charm.

Thanks!

User avatar
KevinA
Posts: 361
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35

Re: Custom Footprint Covered Pads in Version 3.3.1.3

#4 Post by KevinA » 16 May 2019, 23:29

a18rhodes wrote:
16 May 2019, 19:48
Okay, so I guess the limitation I was missing was that this has to be done in the PCB Editor tool, not in the Footprint Editor tool. It seems that no matter what settings I choose in the Footprint Editor, there is no effect. But in the PCB editor, I can select each pad and use the settings you describe and it works like a charm.

Thanks!
The pattern editor can make the mask changes, when you use the pattern in a component then place it on the PCB the mask setting will be as set in the pattern editor. If it is something that will always be tented use the pattern editor, for one-of parts use the PCB editor. You can view the results of the mask setting in the PCB editor...

a18rhodes
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 May 2019, 00:34

Re: Custom Footprint Covered Pads in Version 3.3.1.3

#5 Post by a18rhodes » 17 May 2019, 20:13

Interesting, it seems when do this in the pattern editor instead of the PCB editor, the pads end up still being exposed in the preview.

User avatar
KevinA
Posts: 361
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35

Re: Custom Footprint Covered Pads in Version 3.3.1.3

#6 Post by KevinA » 17 May 2019, 22:28

a18rhodes wrote:
17 May 2019, 20:13
Interesting, it seems when do this in the pattern editor instead of the PCB editor, the pads end up still being exposed in the preview.
Now we get to the tricky part: When you updated a pattern you must delete it from the component in the component editor and replace it with the updated pattern, update the component in the schematic THEN replace the component on the PCB with the updated component as in update PCB from schematic. One day I can only hope for a sync function across the product.
A problem I run into is making changes to a pattern in PCB and later updating the PCB from the schematic which overwrites the changes I did to the pattern in PCB editor.

Post Reply