Multilayer PCB

"How-to" questions from new engineers and designers. Please ask and respond here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
audiolec
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jan 2020, 03:19

Multilayer PCB

#1 Post by audiolec » 18 Apr 2021, 11:40

While routing multilayer, e.g. 4 layer PCBs, how to allocate some specific nets to specific layer?

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1755
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Multilayer PCB

#2 Post by Tomg » 18 Apr 2021, 14:46

Assuming this is for the autorouter...
In the main menu of the PCB Layout editor click on "Route" > "Net Classes..." to bring up the Net Classes dialog window. Under the [Autorouting] tab select/highlight the net class to be assigned (left side of window), disable the "[ ] Use Router Settings" option and fill the small Routing Layers box on the left with the names of the layers where you want that net class to reside.
Tom

audiolec
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Jan 2020, 03:19

Re: Multilayer PCB

#3 Post by audiolec » 22 Apr 2021, 04:31

Thank you, Tom.

Jaloten12
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 May 2021, 14:32

Re: Multilayer PCB

#4 Post by Jaloten12 » 06 May 2021, 14:33

Remember that Net classes can be assigned also to signals

Post Reply