Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

For general questions regarding the software and for all questions that do not fit in any of the threads above.
Message
Author
and3rson
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Mar 2023, 07:06

Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#1 Post by and3rson » 02 Mar 2023, 07:49

Hello,

First of all - thank you for this amazing piece of software!

My problem is that every time I import my kicad project into diptrace, the wire widths of net classes seem to be using incorrect units.

Source file (`main.kicad_pro`):

Code: Select all

// ...
  "net_settings": {
    "classes": [
      {
        "bus_width": 12.0,
        "clearance": 0.2,
        "diff_pair_gap": 0.25,
        "diff_pair_via_gap": 0.25,
        "diff_pair_width": 0.2,
        "line_style": 0,
        "microvia_diameter": 0.3,
        "microvia_drill": 0.1,
        "name": "Default",
        "pcb_color": "rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.000)",
        "schematic_color": "rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.000)",
        "track_width": 0.25,
        "via_diameter": 0.8,
        "via_drill": 0.4,
        "wire_width": 7.874015748031496 <<<<<<<<<<<=============
      },
// ...
`wire_width` is set to ~7.8740 (seems like it's in `mil`), an in UI it's being shown as `0.25 mm`.

However, when I import this project into diptrace, the width becomes `7.8740 mm`, so this seems like a problem with diptrace's importing feature.

Any thoughts on why is this happening or whether this can easily be fixed on my end? I've tried changing units in "View -> Units" with no luck. My only workaround for now is to manually fix wire widths of net classes every time I re-import.

Thanks in advance!

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3884
Joined: 13 Jun 2010, 23:43

Re: Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#2 Post by Alex » 05 Mar 2023, 20:35

Thank you for the report. Could you please share Kicad file for verification.

and3rson
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Mar 2023, 07:06

Re: Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#3 Post by and3rson » 18 Mar 2023, 03:08

Alex wrote: 05 Mar 2023, 20:35 Thank you for the report. Could you please share Kicad file for verification.
Sure, here it is: https://github.com/and3rson/65ad02/tree/main/kicad

I've updated my Kicad to 7.0 and the issue is still there (except that now the width is displayed as 7 mm), so I think it might be related to DipTrace's importer.

Code: Select all

  "net_settings": {
    "classes": [
      {
        "bus_width": 12,
        "clearance": 0.2,
        // ...
        "track_width": 0.25,
        "via_diameter": 0.8,
        "via_drill": 0.4,
        "wire_width": 7 <<<<<<<<==========
      },
FYI - My DipTrace version is 4.3.0.4.

and3rson
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Mar 2023, 07:06

Re: Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#4 Post by and3rson » 15 May 2023, 09:16

Hi, any updates on this? It really slows me down a lot when doing frequent re-imports.

and3rson
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Mar 2023, 07:06

Re: Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#5 Post by and3rson » 27 May 2023, 00:00

Any updates? This is making frequent importing really painful...

mike_s
Posts: 27
Joined: 08 Feb 2012, 13:10

Re: Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#6 Post by mike_s » 02 Jun 2023, 09:23

Having 'played' with Kicad a few years back, I see no reason to waste time there. DipTrace is absolutely superior to the project wana-be junk.

m

mike_s
Posts: 27
Joined: 08 Feb 2012, 13:10

Re: Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#7 Post by mike_s » 02 Jun 2023, 09:24

Having 'played' with Kicad a few years back, I see no reason to waste time there. DipTrace is absolutely superior to the project wana-be junk.

m

and3rson
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Mar 2023, 07:06

Re: Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#8 Post by and3rson » 23 Jul 2023, 12:38

Bunping this thread in case there's any updates...

and3rson
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Mar 2023, 07:06

Re: Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#9 Post by and3rson » 23 Jul 2023, 12:42

mike_s wrote: 02 Jun 2023, 09:24 Having 'played' with Kicad a few years back, I see no reason to waste time there. DipTrace is absolutely superior to the project wana-be junk.

m
It might be. I haven't used it myself for schematics. I'm used to KiCad so I use it as my daily driver. Switching fully to DipTrace would require me to spend some time learning the new tool and make it harder to keep my schematics open source (most of amateur hardware enthusiasts still use KiCad or other free/libre tools). No offense, I love DipTrace (especially the autorouting - damn that thing rocks!) and I'm sure it's superior to KiCad. It's just a matter of habit for me.
Also, Wine (I'm on GNU/Linux) is sometimes not the best app in the world, especially on Wayland... :)

and3rson
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Mar 2023, 07:06

Re: Kicad import leads to incorrect trace widths of net classes

#10 Post by and3rson » 20 Sep 2023, 11:53

Any updates on this?

Post Reply