How to refresh edited patterns in component library

Making your own components and patterns, organizing and using libraries.
Post Reply
Message
Author
dingebre
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Aug 2013, 02:51

How to refresh edited patterns in component library

#1 Post by dingebre » 31 Aug 2013, 19:46

New user here. I've searched the forums, tutorial PDF, and Help file and haven't found an answer (so, if you are better at picking key words and found my answer somewhere, please let me know that, too :) ...)

I've spent several hours importing a custom library from Eagle and editing it to give it some consistency with the DipTrace libraries. I just finished with the patterns and went to the schematic capture, but the old patterns were still associated with the components. I went to the component library and found the same thing.

I exited completely out of DipTrace and tried again, but the old patterns kept coming up. I can't see anyway to refresh the association between the components in my custom library and the new edited patterns in the associated custom pattern library other than go into the component editor and then select each of the components one by one, and manually update the attached pattern. How do I force DipTrace to update these edited libraries?

I suppose this translates to other editors. I change a pattern, or component, how do I force a library update in the schematic or PCB editor?

David
David

David M. Ingebretsen, M.S., M.E.
Collision Forensics & Engineering, Inc.
dingebre -at- CFandE.com

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3076
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: How to refresh edited patterns in component library

#2 Post by Alex » 03 Sep 2013, 09:09

Patterns won't be updated in components automatically. You should manually re-attach modified patterns to components in Component editor or Schematic capture.

dingebre
Posts: 12
Joined: 28 Aug 2013, 02:51

Re: How to refresh edited patterns in component library

#3 Post by dingebre » 03 Sep 2013, 10:35

Ok then, thank you Alex

-- 03 Sep 2013, 13:34 --
Alex wrote:Patterns won't be updated in components automatically. You should manually re-attach modified patterns to components in Component editor or Schematic capture.
I've been playing around with this "feature" and I think it makes more sense to do it this way, at least for the projects I have.

Thanks again for the response Alex.


David
David

David M. Ingebretsen, M.S., M.E.
Collision Forensics & Engineering, Inc.
dingebre -at- CFandE.com

Brent
Posts: 12
Joined: 07 May 2012, 02:59

Re: How to refresh edited patterns in component library

#4 Post by Brent » 08 Jun 2019, 02:50

Even if that is a good idea for some use-cases, we shouldn't be *forced* to manually click on dozens (or hundreds) of components and select their patterns again, then close the dialog, etc., just to update their patterns.

Can you supply an automated way of updating component patterns after editing them?

One use-case for this is when a certain PCB manufacturer that you chose (PCBWay) requires thru-hole rings to be at least 5 mil, when we've been using your supplied patterns for years with 4.62 mil rings. Updating them alone is a huge expenditure of tedious labor. But then to have to manually update all the patterns...??? !!!

User avatar
KevinA
Posts: 367
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35

Re: How to refresh edited patterns in component library

#5 Post by KevinA » 08 Jun 2019, 09:44

You should visit jlcpcb: Annular Ring 3mil (0.0762mm) problem solved

Post Reply